Betty At The Party

16 Nov

Betty At The Party

“When I was at the party,”

Said Betty, aged just four,

“A little girl fell off her chair

Right down upon the floor;

And all the other little girls

Began to laugh, but me –

I didn’t laugh a single bit,”

Said Betty seriously.

“Why not?” her mother asked her,

Full of delight to find

That Betty – bless her little heart! –

Had been so sweetly kind.

“Why didn’t you laugh, my darling?

Or don’t you like to tell?”

“I didn’t laugh,” said Betty,

“‘Cause me it was that fell.”

I think one of the coolest parties I ever went to as a kid was a punk party in the early 80s. It was held in a little room over a library, covered in sheets and graffed liberally. Everyone pitched in to look as punk as possible, and the costumes were amazing, and most of the music played was punk. Pinning a tail to a donkey with The Clash on is a pretty cool thing to do as an 8 year-old. A couple of girls came in full on disco flares and ‘fro wigs – they were shunned by the vast majority. I don’t condone such behaviour, but dressing up brings out another side to a person at a party, I guess….

What’s your favourite party costume/theme?

Alex

http://www.welldoituk.com

http://www.partyplannersliverpool.co.uk

FB: We’ll Do It

TWITTER: welldoit2011

Leave a comment