Party poem

16 Nov

Anyone remember a poem that started like this ….
“When I was at the party” said Betty aged just 4, “A little girl fell off her chair right down upon the floor.” ………………. Can’t remember the middle bit but its something about everyone at the party laughing at the little girl and then Betty proclaims she didn’t laugh, “why?” Her mother asked her ……………… “I didn’t laugh” said Betty “because it was me that fell!”

Such a beautiful poem and if anyone remembers the middle part please do let me know. I recited this when I was young at a speech and drama exam as far as I can remember my mum dressed me in a party dress and little red shoes. I got a distinction for that poem …. I was only 6!

Sally x

http://www.welldoituk.com
http://www.partyplannersliverpool.co.uk
Facebook – We’ll Do It
Twitter – welldoit2011

One Response to “Party poem”

  1. Julie July 21, 2013 at 10:56 am #

    “When I was at the party,” said Betty aged just four,
    “A little girl fell off her chair right down upon the floor
    And all the other little girls began to laugh but me.
    I didn’t laugh a single bit,” said Betty seriously.
    “Why not?” her mother asked her, full of delight to find
    That Betty – bless her little heart! – had been so sweetly kind.
    “Why didn’t you laugh, my darling, or don’t you like to tell?”
    “I didn’t laugh,” said Betty, “Cos it was me that fell!”

Leave a comment