Long hard days

16 Nov

Today I (sally) went to my friends funeral. The service was wonderful, so boyish just like he was. In actual fact it was quite a joyous occasion, fuelled with a shed load of tears and heart ache of course, but it was more a celebration of his life then a sombre affair. It was also the first time I’d ever worn a football t-shirt. Never in my life did I ever think I’d be in 1 of those but it was the dress code so really it was only respectable to stick to it.

Later on when I got home I got to thinking a little more about if We’ll Do It could do wakes … I feel there is a gap in the market for such thing and I think I’d be quite good at them. I feel I can be very sensitive and understanding in tragic situations as I have been through many in my short 26 years on this earth.

The thing I have noticed is that because the people who are organising the funeral and the wake are normal grief stricken their minds aren’t really focused on fun times so it normally works out that they get charged the earth for a crappy pub, cheap wine and un-satisfying fried or dried out food. Wouldn’t it be nice to have someone make it special for you? Just because its a sad time it doesn’t mean that you can’t celebrate the persons life and enjoy the company that you have with you on the day does it? Respectable and memorable with our signature personal touch … The problem is how to market such a service, through funeral parlours maybe? Who knows, its only a passing thought but it could develop later down the line.

I like the idea of handing out helium balloons in the persons favourite colour which people can tie special memories or messages to and then release them into the sky, not like an overly organised thing, just have them there in the corner with a few instructions on so that it anyone wanted to do it they could at a time and place or their choosing.

Anyway, time to get to bed and start thinking about what outfit to wear to the Aerco Christmas party on 9th December.

See ya,
Sally x

http://www.welldoituk.com
http://www.partyplannersliverpool.co.uk
Facebook – We’ll Do It
Twitter – welldoit2011

Leave a comment