Train journeys

14 Nov

They are so good for clearing your head and focusing your thoughts.
I’ve got my IPod on shuffle and I’ve managed to get the next 3 weeks straight in my head without the use on a calender, note pad or pen! You could ask me anything about anyone day over the next 3 weeks and I’d have the answer for sure!
Must remember to order santa hats for the Aerco christmas party – a christmas party isn’t a christmas party with out santa hats oh yeah and, of course, candy cane and a Willy Wonker candy bar (I mean like a sweet shop style bar not an actual candy/chocolate bar)
Alex is current back in Liverpool confirming all the bookings we have made for the party while I head down south to brighton for a few days off, grrrreat!
I worked on a wonderful event on saturday – Alternative Miss Liverpool! Part of Homotopia festival and I had the best time! The idea took its inspiration from a London based artist called Andrew Logan who started the Alternative Miss World in 1974. Andrew is a marvellous man and I can see why Homotopia wanted to work with him and take inspiration from him.
My job started off as back stage runner as I was just helping out a friend but slowly progressed into team leader and then back stage manager which means I must have been good at my job (phew!).
I was completely in charge of the contestants and let me tell you a 10 foot by 7 foot dressing room packed with 16 excitable, nervous, outrageous and bitchy drag queens is not the easiest thing to manage especially as none of them were allowed to drink, smoke or leave the dressing room until either the end of the pageant or they got voted off! I decided the only way I’d get them to at least attempt to tackle the tasks I asked them to do was be louder, bitchier and gayer then they could possibly be, as you can well imagine this didn’t work, it only added fuel to the already roaring fire!
10am till midnight my shift was, by the end I couldn’t even pick up my celebratory cuppa tea I was that exhausted …. Totally fabulous!
The venue look spectacular and everyone working on the event did a marvellous job, I felt very privilege to be involved …. Roll on next year! Now then …. Back to my thoughts …

Sally x

http://www.welldoituk.com

Leave a comment